Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
Winter in Tabriz

Winter in Tabriz

Publisher : Hodder & Stoughton
SKU: 9781473663169
R 215,00
R 182,75
The beguiling second novel from the author of Walking Wounded for fans of Anna Funder and William Boyd.
'A gripping, nostalgic story of the struggle for art, love and freedom . . . captures the complexities and tensions of attempting to choose one's own path, and the vulnerability implicit in investing in love and friendship' Irish Times During the chaotic months leading up to the Iranian Revolution, four young people navigate the increasingly dangerous situation they find themselves in. Damian and Anna are both research students whose lives become enmeshed with Arash, a poet, and his older brother Reza, a lecturer and amateur photographer. Amid riots and mounting arrests, in a state where homosexuality is illegal and dissident voices savagely repressed, each one has to make ever more urgent - and irrevocable - choices. 'A wonderfully accomplished novel that powerfully depicts a forbidden love in a fragmenting world' David Park 'The evocation of time and place feels vivid and authentic. Llewellyn's account is compelling . . . [a] novel that engages in big political questions' Irish Independent
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781473663169
Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
Contributor By (author) Sheila Llewellyn
Publication Date 2022-03-17
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 352
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 196 X 128 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 240
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
'A gripping, nostalgic story of the struggle for art, love and freedom . . . captures the complexities and tensions of attempting to choose one's own path, and the vulnerability implicit in investing in love and friendship' Irish Times During the chaotic months leading up to the Iranian Revolution, four young people navigate the increasingly dangerous situation they find themselves in. Damian and Anna are both research students whose lives become enmeshed with Arash, a poet, and his older brother Reza, a lecturer and amateur photographer. Amid riots and mounting arrests, in a state where homosexuality is illegal and dissident voices savagely repressed, each one has to make ever more urgent - and irrevocable - choices. 'A wonderfully accomplished novel that powerfully depicts a forbidden love in a fragmenting world' David Park 'The evocation of time and place feels vivid and authentic. Llewellyn's account is compelling . . . [a] novel that engages in big political questions' Irish Independent
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781473663169
Publisher Hodder & Stoughton
Contributor By (author) Sheila Llewellyn
Publication Date 2022-03-17
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 352
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 196 X 128 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 240
}