Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
Will This House Last Forever? : 'Heartbreaking, beautifully written' The Times

Will This House Last Forever? : 'Heartbreaking, beautifully written' The Times

Sorry - this product is no longer available

Publisher : Headline Publishing Group
SKU: 9781472274489
R 0,00
For readers of GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS, Deborah Levy or Olivia Laing, a heartfelt and beautifully written memoir about the experience of losing a father who put poetry before family every time
March, 2022
'Completely original, raw and warm' Evening Standard Books of the Summer 'Poignant... written with intelligence and tears' Ben Okri 'Nuanced, absorbing and moving... extraordinary' Observer 'Raw, poetic, beautifully formed' Daisy Johnson When Xanthi Barker's father died when she was in her mid twenties, she could make no sense of her grief for a man who had been absent for most of her life. Her father, poet Sebastian Barker, had left Xanthi, her mother and her brother to pursue writing and a new relationship, when Xanthi was a baby. Growing up she had always struggled to reconcile his extravagant affection - a rocking horse crafted from scavenged wood, the endless stream of poems and drawings and letters, conversations that spiralled from the structure of starlight to philosophy to Bruce Springsteen - with the fact that he could not be depended upon for more everyday things. Though theirs was a relationship defined by departures, he always returned, so why should this farewell be any different, or more final? WILL THIS HOUSE LAST FOREVER? is a heartfelt and wholly original memoir about the pain of having to come to terms with a parent's mortality, the way grief so utterly defies logic, and about learning to see the flaws in those that we love, and let them go.
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781472274489
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
Contributor By (author) Xanthi Barker
Publication Date 2022-04-07
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 368
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 196 X 126 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 253
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
'Completely original, raw and warm' Evening Standard Books of the Summer 'Poignant... written with intelligence and tears' Ben Okri 'Nuanced, absorbing and moving... extraordinary' Observer 'Raw, poetic, beautifully formed' Daisy Johnson When Xanthi Barker's father died when she was in her mid twenties, she could make no sense of her grief for a man who had been absent for most of her life. Her father, poet Sebastian Barker, had left Xanthi, her mother and her brother to pursue writing and a new relationship, when Xanthi was a baby. Growing up she had always struggled to reconcile his extravagant affection - a rocking horse crafted from scavenged wood, the endless stream of poems and drawings and letters, conversations that spiralled from the structure of starlight to philosophy to Bruce Springsteen - with the fact that he could not be depended upon for more everyday things. Though theirs was a relationship defined by departures, he always returned, so why should this farewell be any different, or more final? WILL THIS HOUSE LAST FOREVER? is a heartfelt and wholly original memoir about the pain of having to come to terms with a parent's mortality, the way grief so utterly defies logic, and about learning to see the flaws in those that we love, and let them go.
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781472274489
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
Contributor By (author) Xanthi Barker
Publication Date 2022-04-07
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 368
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 196 X 126 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 253
}