Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
Widowland

Widowland

Publisher : Quercus Publishing
SKU: 9781529411997
R 355,00
R 301,75
An alternative history with a strong feminist twist, perfect for fans of Robert Harris' Fatherland, Christina Dalcher's Vox and the dystopian novels of Margaret Atwood
'READING THIS TERRIFIC, ORWELLIAN NOVEL YOU ALMOST HOLD YOUR BREATH' Bel Mooney An alternative history with a strong feminist twist, perfect for fans of Robert Harris' Fatherland, Christina Dalcher's Vox and the dystopian novels of Margaret Atwood. 'A TRIUMPH' Amanda Craig 'CONVINCING AND GRIPPING' Elizabeth Buchan 'BRILLIANTLY IMAGINED' Clare Chambers 'TERRIFIC HEROINE' Adele Geras 'VIVIDLY IMAGINED' Nicci French To control the past, they edited history. To control the future, they edited literature. London, 1953, Coronation year - but not the Coronation of Elizabeth II. Thirteen years have passed since a Grand Alliance between Great Britain and Germany was formalized. George VI and his family have been murdered and Edward VIII rules as King. Yet, in practice, all power is vested in Alfred Rosenberg, Britain's Protector. The role and status of women is Rosenberg's particular interest. Rose Ransom belongs to the elite caste of women and works at the Ministry of Culture, rewriting literature to correct the views of the past. But now she has been given a special task. Outbreaks of insurgency have been seen across the country; graffiti daubed on public buildings. Disturbingly, the graffiti is made up of lines from forbidden works, subversive words from the voices of women. Suspicion has fallen on Widowland, the run-down slums where childless women over fifty have been banished. These women are known to be mutinous, for they have nothing to lose. Before the Leader arrives for the Coronation ceremony of King Edward and Queen Wallis, Rose must infiltrate Widowland to find the source of this rebellion and ensure that it is quashed. 'THE MOST IMPORTANT FEMINIST NOVEL IN DECADES' Jane Harris 'A VERY SMART REIMAGINED HISTORY' Henry Porter 'BRIMMING WITH CRACKLING DETAIL, A GRIPPING THRILLER' Miranda Carter
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781529411997
Publisher Quercus Publishing
Contributor By (author) C J Carey
Publication Date 2021-06-10
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 400
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 234 X 153 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 500
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
'READING THIS TERRIFIC, ORWELLIAN NOVEL YOU ALMOST HOLD YOUR BREATH' Bel Mooney An alternative history with a strong feminist twist, perfect for fans of Robert Harris' Fatherland, Christina Dalcher's Vox and the dystopian novels of Margaret Atwood. 'A TRIUMPH' Amanda Craig 'CONVINCING AND GRIPPING' Elizabeth Buchan 'BRILLIANTLY IMAGINED' Clare Chambers 'TERRIFIC HEROINE' Adele Geras 'VIVIDLY IMAGINED' Nicci French To control the past, they edited history. To control the future, they edited literature. London, 1953, Coronation year - but not the Coronation of Elizabeth II. Thirteen years have passed since a Grand Alliance between Great Britain and Germany was formalized. George VI and his family have been murdered and Edward VIII rules as King. Yet, in practice, all power is vested in Alfred Rosenberg, Britain's Protector. The role and status of women is Rosenberg's particular interest. Rose Ransom belongs to the elite caste of women and works at the Ministry of Culture, rewriting literature to correct the views of the past. But now she has been given a special task. Outbreaks of insurgency have been seen across the country; graffiti daubed on public buildings. Disturbingly, the graffiti is made up of lines from forbidden works, subversive words from the voices of women. Suspicion has fallen on Widowland, the run-down slums where childless women over fifty have been banished. These women are known to be mutinous, for they have nothing to lose. Before the Leader arrives for the Coronation ceremony of King Edward and Queen Wallis, Rose must infiltrate Widowland to find the source of this rebellion and ensure that it is quashed. 'THE MOST IMPORTANT FEMINIST NOVEL IN DECADES' Jane Harris 'A VERY SMART REIMAGINED HISTORY' Henry Porter 'BRIMMING WITH CRACKLING DETAIL, A GRIPPING THRILLER' Miranda Carter
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781529411997
Publisher Quercus Publishing
Contributor By (author) C J Carey
Publication Date 2021-06-10
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 400
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 234 X 153 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 500
}