Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
When Women Were Dragons : an enduring, feminist novel from New York Times bestselling author, Kelly Barnhill

When Women Were Dragons : an enduring, feminist novel from New York Times bestselling author, Kelly Barnhill

Publisher : Hot Key Books
SKU: 9781471412219
R 335,00
R 284,75
Imagine a world where women and girls can transform into dragons ... Alex Green is four years old when she first sees a dragon.
Perfect for fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE, VOX, and THE POWER. In a world where girls and women are taught to be quiet, the dragons inside them are about to be set free ... In this timely and timeless speculative novel, set in 1950s America, Kelly Barnhill exposes a world that wants to keep girls and women small - and examines what happens when they rise up. Alex Green is four years old when she first sees a dragon. In her next-door neighbour's garden, in the spot where the old lady usually sits, is a huge dragon, an astonished expression on its face before it opens its wings and soars away across the rooftops. And Alex doesn't see the little old lady after that. No one mentions her. It's as if she's never existed. Then Alex's mother disappears, and reappears a week later, one quiet Tuesday, with no explanation whatsoever as to where she has been. But she is a ghostly shadow of her former self, and with scars across her body - wide, deep burns, as though she had been attacked by a monster who breathed fire. Alex, growing from young girl to fiercely independent teenager, is desperate for answers, but doesn't get any. Whether anyone likes it or not, the Mass Dragoning is coming. And nothing will be the same after that. Everything is about to change, forever. And when it does, this, too, will be unmentionable...
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781471412219
Publisher Hot Key Books
Contributor By (author) Kelly Barnhill
Publication Date 2022-05-03
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 352
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 216 X 135 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 346
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
Perfect for fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE, VOX, and THE POWER. In a world where girls and women are taught to be quiet, the dragons inside them are about to be set free ... In this timely and timeless speculative novel, set in 1950s America, Kelly Barnhill exposes a world that wants to keep girls and women small - and examines what happens when they rise up. Alex Green is four years old when she first sees a dragon. In her next-door neighbour's garden, in the spot where the old lady usually sits, is a huge dragon, an astonished expression on its face before it opens its wings and soars away across the rooftops. And Alex doesn't see the little old lady after that. No one mentions her. It's as if she's never existed. Then Alex's mother disappears, and reappears a week later, one quiet Tuesday, with no explanation whatsoever as to where she has been. But she is a ghostly shadow of her former self, and with scars across her body - wide, deep burns, as though she had been attacked by a monster who breathed fire. Alex, growing from young girl to fiercely independent teenager, is desperate for answers, but doesn't get any. Whether anyone likes it or not, the Mass Dragoning is coming. And nothing will be the same after that. Everything is about to change, forever. And when it does, this, too, will be unmentionable...
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781471412219
Publisher Hot Key Books
Contributor By (author) Kelly Barnhill
Publication Date 2022-05-03
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 352
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 216 X 135 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 346
}