Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
We Were Young

We Were Young

Publisher : Orion Publishing Co
SKU: 9781474611718
R 335,00
R 284,75
From the author of This Happy and winner of the Sunday Times Short Story Audible Award, comes a deeply moving, funny, profound novel about Cormac, a man approaching forty and still single, and the women that prop up his life. A novel for readers of Anne Enright, Tessa Hadley, Sally Rooney and Jonathan Franzen.
'I love this woman's writing. Golden sentences' Diana Evans 'She has already been compared with writers such as Eimear McBride, Ali Smith and Claire Louise Bennett, and indeed Niamh Campbell does add a distinctive new voice to Irish literature... Witty, fiery, wistful and even shocking, with engrossing heady prose, Campbell's style is unique' Irish Independent 'An immensely enjoyable novel, and a great validation of Campbell's uncanny emotional insight' Megan Nolan, Sunday Independent 'Young then. Before Alva and everything.' Cormac is a photographer. Approaching forty and still single, he suddenly finds himself 'the leftover man'. Through talent and charm, he has escaped small town life and a haunted family. But now his peers are all getting divorced, dying, or buying trampolines in the suburbs. Cormac is dating former students, staying out all night and receiving boilerplate rejection emails for his work, propped up by a constellation of the women and ex-lovers in his life. In the last weeks of the year, Cormac meets Caroline, an ambitious young dancer, and embarks on a miniature odyssey of intimacy. Simultaneously, he must take responsibility for his married brother, whose mid-life crisis forces them both to reckon with a death in the family that hangs over those left behind. Set in Dublin, a city built on burial pits, We Were Young is a dazzlingly clever, deeply enjoyable novel from a Sunday Times Short Story Award-Winning author. 'In 30 years from now will some literary critic be asking what is meant by "Campbellesque"? That would not surprise me in the slightest' Irish Times
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781474611718
Publisher Orion Publishing Co
Contributor By (author) Niamh Campbell
Publication Date 2022-02-17
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 288
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 214 X 134 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 280
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
'I love this woman's writing. Golden sentences' Diana Evans 'She has already been compared with writers such as Eimear McBride, Ali Smith and Claire Louise Bennett, and indeed Niamh Campbell does add a distinctive new voice to Irish literature... Witty, fiery, wistful and even shocking, with engrossing heady prose, Campbell's style is unique' Irish Independent 'An immensely enjoyable novel, and a great validation of Campbell's uncanny emotional insight' Megan Nolan, Sunday Independent 'Young then. Before Alva and everything.' Cormac is a photographer. Approaching forty and still single, he suddenly finds himself 'the leftover man'. Through talent and charm, he has escaped small town life and a haunted family. But now his peers are all getting divorced, dying, or buying trampolines in the suburbs. Cormac is dating former students, staying out all night and receiving boilerplate rejection emails for his work, propped up by a constellation of the women and ex-lovers in his life. In the last weeks of the year, Cormac meets Caroline, an ambitious young dancer, and embarks on a miniature odyssey of intimacy. Simultaneously, he must take responsibility for his married brother, whose mid-life crisis forces them both to reckon with a death in the family that hangs over those left behind. Set in Dublin, a city built on burial pits, We Were Young is a dazzlingly clever, deeply enjoyable novel from a Sunday Times Short Story Award-Winning author. 'In 30 years from now will some literary critic be asking what is meant by "Campbellesque"? That would not surprise me in the slightest' Irish Times
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781474611718
Publisher Orion Publishing Co
Contributor By (author) Niamh Campbell
Publication Date 2022-02-17
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 288
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 214 X 134 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 280
}