Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
Picture for category Social Sciences

Social Sciences

Social Sciences
3 Items in Grid 4 Items in Grid List

A Father is Born : A Memoir

The death of Neo "Snowy" Mashaba at 55 provokes an intense emotional reaction in his son, Tumiso, the author of this moving portrait of a relationship between a father and son. Tumiso is stunned by his emotional response, as his father was a distant and often brutal presence in his childhood.
R 233,75 R 275,00

30 Animals That Made Us Smarter

For many years, humans have been using the natural world as inspiration for everything from fashion to architecture, and medicine to transport, and it may come as a surprise to learn how many inventions have been motivated by animal design and behaviour.
R 405,00

A Girl Made of Air

A lyrical debut packed with myth, magic and folklore, perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern and Angela Carter
R 182,75 R 215,00

A Little Devil in America : In Praise of Black Performance

An electrifying celebration of Black performances, cultures and communities in the United States, from the New York Times bestselling poet and critic Hanif Abdurraqib 'Gorgeous' - Brit Bennett 'Pure genius' - Jacqueline Woodson 'One of the most dynamic books I have ever read' - Clint Smith At the March on Washington, Josephine Baker reflected on her life and her legacy. She had spent decades as one of the most successful entertainers in the world, but, she told the crowd, "I was a devil in ot
R 455,00

A Magna Carta for Children? : Rethinking Children's Rights

Are the rights we currently afford to children enough? This book restates the importance of law, policy and rights in improving children's lives. This book will appeal to an interdisciplinary audience who are interested in children's rights, children's studies, the history of childhood, international human rights, and comparative family law.
R 1 800,00

1919

In 1919, award-winning poet Eve L. Ewing recovers the essentially human stories at the heart of the Chicago Race Riot of 1919: of the people who took part in it, and of the lives that were marked by it. This most intense of the riots of the USA's 'Red Summer' lasted eight days, resulting in thirty-eight deaths and almost 500 injuries; it was a signal and traumatic event which has now shaped the history of the city where it took place for a century. As well as telling the tale of the riot itsel
R 240,00

A False Report : The chilling true story of the woman nobody believed

Previously published as 'A False Report'The real-life investigation behind the forthcoming NETFLIX series: two Pulitzer Prize-winning journalists uncover the story of Marie, an eighteen-year-old girl who was branded a liar after reporting her brutal rape, and the detectives who followed a twisting path to arrive at the truth.
R 204,00 R 240,00

3-Minute Devotions for Men

Got 3 minutes to spare? You'll find the challenge and encouragement you need in 3-Minute Devotions for Men.
R 255,00 R 300,00

A Good Cry : What We Learn From Tears And Laughter

The poetry of Nikki Giovanni has spurred movements, turned hearts and informed generations. She's been hailed as a firebrand, a radical, a courageous activist who has spoken out on the sensitive issues that touch our national consciousness, including race and gender, social justice, protest, violence in the home and in the streets, and why black lives matter. One of America's most celebrated poets looks inward in this powerful collection, a rumination on her life and the people who have shape
R 297,50 R 350,00

200 Women : Who will change the way you see the world

200 women from a variety of backgrounds are asked the same five questions. Their answers are inspiring human stories of success and courage, love and pain, redemption and generosity.
R 170,00 R 200,00

A Family Haggadah

With just the right blend of text and commentary, the popular A Family Haggadah, with new full-color art, is the haggadah of choice for families with young children to use at their Passover seders. Hebrew prayers and songs include English translations and transliterations.
R 84,15 R 99,00

A Black Choice

A guide to success covers issues such as prejudice and poverty, and includes the success stories of Oprah Winfrey, Don King, and John Johnson, founder of "Ebony" magazine.
R 165,00