Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
Picture for category Farming & Livestock Books

Farming & Livestock Books

Farming & Livestock Books
3 Items in Grid 4 Items in Grid List

On Sheep : Diary of a Swedish Shepherd

Norwegian Wood meets The Tao of Pooh meets a flock of Swedish sheep in this playful, profound and philosophical diary written by a literary academic turned novice shepherd.
R 165,75

A Honeybee Heart Has Five Openings

A fascinating, insightful and inspiring account of a novice beekeeper's year of keeping a colony of honeybees, which will appeal to readers of H is For Hawk and The Outrun
R 182,75

PIG : Tales from an Organic Farm

An evocative and illuminating account of the wonder of pigs, from one of the pioneers of the organic farming movement. A perfect read for fans of The Secret Life of Cows and A Shepherd's Life.
R 182,75

The Secret Life of Cows

****A Sunday Times bestseller***
***A Times Book of the Year 2017***

WITH A FOREWORD BY ALAN BENNETT

'A lovely, thoughtful little book about the intelligence of cows.' James Rebanks, author of The Shepherd's Life

Cows are as varied as people.
R 153,00 R 180,00

Cattle of the ages

In this majestic book, Cyril Ramaphosa reveals his passion and love for cattle as he introduces us to the magnificent Ankole cattle, originating in Uganda, and now, through his intervention, flourishing in South Africa.
R 722,50 R 850,00

The socioeconomics of livestock keeping in two South African communities

The South African government has prioritized a reduction of poverty and increased food security in rural parts of South Africa through agrarian transformation. As the bearers and beneficiaries of rural development initiatives, smallholder farmers, including those keeping livestock, loom large in this arena.
R 161,50 R 190,00

African local knowledge and livestock health : Diseases and treatments in South Africa

Understanding local knowledge has become a central academic project among those interested in Africa and developing countries. In South Africa, land reform is gathering pace and African people hold an increasing proportion of the livestock in the country.
R 149,60 R 176,00

Agriculture: Workbook

R 307,70 R 362,00

Case studies of emerging farmers and agribusinesses in South Africa

Emerging" (or "black") farmers are often considered a homogenous group.
R 352,75 R 415,00

Beginner's guide to earthworm farming

If you are concerned about the health of our planet then turn your attention to what lies under your feet. In the soil below are creatures at work that play a pivotal role in producing the food we eat and impacting the quality of our food crops.
R 144,50 R 170,00

Livestock Emergency Guidelines and Standards

International guidelines and standards for the design, implementation and assessment of livestock interventions to assist people affected by humanitarian crises, LEGS expands the commitment in the Sphere handbook towards supporting livelihood assets, presenting clear and practical options for supporting livestock during and following disasters.
R 463,25 R 545,00

Pasture management in South Africa

'Covering all major aspects of pasture production and management in South Africa, this text's particular strengths are species selection, pasture establishment, fertilizer, grazing and forage management, and feed budgeting, amongst others.
R 327,25 R 385,00