Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
The Wolf and the Woodsman : The Sunday Times Bestseller

The Wolf and the Woodsman : The Sunday Times Bestseller

Publisher : Cornerstone
SKU: 9781529100754
R 215,00
As their fates grow ever more entangled, Evike and Gaspar must learn to trust each other - or neither of them will survive. A dark, spellbinding literary fairy tale inspired by Hungarian folklore, The Wolf and the Woodsman is perfect for readers of Katherine Arden, Naomi Novik and Erin Morgenstern.
THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER A dark, evocative and unforgettable fantasy debut steeped in Hungarian history and Jewish mythology, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Katherine Arden. 'Rooted in history and myth, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a stunning debut . . . It will twine like a dark forest around your heart.' Samantha Shannon, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree ______________________________________ A spirited outcast. A disgraced prince. A world where monsters roam free. In her forest-veiled pagan village, Evike is the only woman without power. So when soldiers from the Holy Order of Woodsmen arrive to claim a girl for their king's blood sacrifice, the villagers only have one person to offer up. But when they are attacked en-route to the capital, and everyone but Evike and a lone Woodsman are slaughtered, they have no choice but to rely on each other. Except he's no ordinary Woodsman - he's the disgraced prince, Gaspar Barany, whose father needs pagan magic to consolidate his power. As they travel from the bitter northern tundra to the smog-choked capital, they form a tenuous pact that slowly turns their loathing turns to affection. But trust is easily betrayed, and as Evike discovers her own hidden magic, she and Gaspar must decide where their loyalties really lie . . . ______________________________________ 'Entertaining, appealing, and strikingly imagined' Tor.com 'An intricate, gut-wrenching fantasy that will set the bar for dark historical fantasy for years to come.' The Book Report 'Gorgeously written and grimly real' Alix Harrow 'A grown-up, complicated, angsty, sexy, dark book' Cultured Vulture 'Richly imagined, densely textured, and endlessly delightful' Katherine Addison 'A powerful feminist story about acceptance, The Wolf and the Woodsman is perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden' British Fantasy Society
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781529100754
Publisher Cornerstone
Contributor By (author) Ava Reid
Publication Date 2022-03-10
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 432
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 197 X 130 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 299
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER A dark, evocative and unforgettable fantasy debut steeped in Hungarian history and Jewish mythology, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Katherine Arden. 'Rooted in history and myth, The Wolf and the Woodsman is a stunning debut . . . It will twine like a dark forest around your heart.' Samantha Shannon, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Priory of the Orange Tree ______________________________________ A spirited outcast. A disgraced prince. A world where monsters roam free. In her forest-veiled pagan village, Evike is the only woman without power. So when soldiers from the Holy Order of Woodsmen arrive to claim a girl for their king's blood sacrifice, the villagers only have one person to offer up. But when they are attacked en-route to the capital, and everyone but Evike and a lone Woodsman are slaughtered, they have no choice but to rely on each other. Except he's no ordinary Woodsman - he's the disgraced prince, Gaspar Barany, whose father needs pagan magic to consolidate his power. As they travel from the bitter northern tundra to the smog-choked capital, they form a tenuous pact that slowly turns their loathing turns to affection. But trust is easily betrayed, and as Evike discovers her own hidden magic, she and Gaspar must decide where their loyalties really lie . . . ______________________________________ 'Entertaining, appealing, and strikingly imagined' Tor.com 'An intricate, gut-wrenching fantasy that will set the bar for dark historical fantasy for years to come.' The Book Report 'Gorgeously written and grimly real' Alix Harrow 'A grown-up, complicated, angsty, sexy, dark book' Cultured Vulture 'Richly imagined, densely textured, and endlessly delightful' Katherine Addison 'A powerful feminist story about acceptance, The Wolf and the Woodsman is perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden' British Fantasy Society
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781529100754
Publisher Cornerstone
Contributor By (author) Ava Reid
Publication Date 2022-03-10
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 432
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 197 X 130 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 299
}