Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
The Physicists' Daughter : A Novel

The Physicists' Daughter : A Novel

Publisher : Sourcebooks, Inc
SKU: 9781464215551
R 259,25
"For fans of The Alice Network, THE PHYSICISTS' DAUGHTER brings readers to the WWII homefront, as 20-year-old factory assembly line worker Justine Byrne discovers the carbon parts she assembles 8 hours a day have nothing to do with boats, but are intended for a secret government initiative-The Manhattan Project-and that her factory may be a target for sabotage"--
The Nazis are no match for the physicists' daughter. New Orleans, 1944 Sabotage. That's the word on factory worker Justine Byrne's mind as she is repeatedly called to weld machine parts that keep failing with no clear cause. Could someone inside the secretive Carbon Division be deliberately undermining the factory's war efforts? Raised by her late parents to think logically, she also can't help wondering just what the oddly shaped carbon gadgets she assembles day after day have to do with the boats the factory builds... When a crane inexplicably crashes to the factory floor, leaving a woman dead, Justine can no longer ignore her nagging fear that German spies are at work within the building, trying to put the factory and its workers out of commission. Unable to trust anyone-not the charming men vying for her attention, not her unpleasant boss, and not even the women who work beside her-Justine draws on the legacy of her unconventional upbringing to keep her division running and protect her coworkers, her country, and herself from a war that is suddenly very close to home.
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781464215551
Publisher Sourcebooks, Inc
Contributor By (author) Mary Anna Evans
Publication Date 2022-07-07
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 352
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 210 X 148 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 500
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
The Nazis are no match for the physicists' daughter. New Orleans, 1944 Sabotage. That's the word on factory worker Justine Byrne's mind as she is repeatedly called to weld machine parts that keep failing with no clear cause. Could someone inside the secretive Carbon Division be deliberately undermining the factory's war efforts? Raised by her late parents to think logically, she also can't help wondering just what the oddly shaped carbon gadgets she assembles day after day have to do with the boats the factory builds... When a crane inexplicably crashes to the factory floor, leaving a woman dead, Justine can no longer ignore her nagging fear that German spies are at work within the building, trying to put the factory and its workers out of commission. Unable to trust anyone-not the charming men vying for her attention, not her unpleasant boss, and not even the women who work beside her-Justine draws on the legacy of her unconventional upbringing to keep her division running and protect her coworkers, her country, and herself from a war that is suddenly very close to home.
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781464215551
Publisher Sourcebooks, Inc
Contributor By (author) Mary Anna Evans
Publication Date 2022-07-07
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 352
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 210 X 148 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 500
}