Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
The Ophelia Girls

The Ophelia Girls

Publisher : Pan Macmillan
SKU: 9781529014877
R 220,00
An intoxicating novel about art, illicit desire and the perils and power of being a young woman - perfect for fans of My Dark Vanessa, The Virgin Suicides and The Doll Factory.
March, 2022
'An immersive, intoxicating summer read with the long-lasting feel of a classic' - Molly Aitken, author of The Island Child 'A potent blend of art, beauty, awakening desire and mortality that seduces the reader' - Daily Mail Summer, 1973. Teenage Ruth and her four friends spend the scorching summer days in the river, recreating tableaus of the drowning Ophelia and other tragic heroines. But as autumn draws nearer, real tragedy has found them. Summer, 1997. Ruth returns to her childhood home with her husband and three children, including her eldest daughter seventeen-year-old Maeve. However when Stuart, an old family friend comes to stay, the uneasy relationship between mother and daughter is pushed to its limit. For Stuart's arrival is a reminder of a death in Ruth's past, while Maeve is feeling more alive than ever . . . As the heat of the summer burns, how long can the family go before long-held secrets threaten to burst their banks and drown them all? Set between two fateful summers, Jane Healey's The Ophelia Girls is a visceral, heady exploration of illicit desire, infatuation and the perils and power of being a young woman. 'A vivid, sensuous novel . . . I can't recommend it enough' - Anna Bailey, bestselling author of Tall Bones
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781529014877
Publisher Pan Macmillan
Contributor By (author) Jane Healey
Publication Date 2022-03-17
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 368
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 197 X 130 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 260
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
'An immersive, intoxicating summer read with the long-lasting feel of a classic' - Molly Aitken, author of The Island Child 'A potent blend of art, beauty, awakening desire and mortality that seduces the reader' - Daily Mail Summer, 1973. Teenage Ruth and her four friends spend the scorching summer days in the river, recreating tableaus of the drowning Ophelia and other tragic heroines. But as autumn draws nearer, real tragedy has found them. Summer, 1997. Ruth returns to her childhood home with her husband and three children, including her eldest daughter seventeen-year-old Maeve. However when Stuart, an old family friend comes to stay, the uneasy relationship between mother and daughter is pushed to its limit. For Stuart's arrival is a reminder of a death in Ruth's past, while Maeve is feeling more alive than ever . . . As the heat of the summer burns, how long can the family go before long-held secrets threaten to burst their banks and drown them all? Set between two fateful summers, Jane Healey's The Ophelia Girls is a visceral, heady exploration of illicit desire, infatuation and the perils and power of being a young woman. 'A vivid, sensuous novel . . . I can't recommend it enough' - Anna Bailey, bestselling author of Tall Bones
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781529014877
Publisher Pan Macmillan
Contributor By (author) Jane Healey
Publication Date 2022-03-17
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 368
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 197 X 130 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 260
}