Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
The Music of Bees : A heartwarming and redemptive story about the families we choose for ourselves

The Music of Bees : A heartwarming and redemptive story about the families we choose for ourselves

Publisher : Headline Publishing Group
SKU: 9781472277824
R 355,00
R 301,75
When social pariah Alice Holtzman crashes her pick-up truck packed with 120,000 restless honeybees into a troubled, paraplegic teenager, it is the start of an unlikely friendship that will help both of them through the darkest stages of grief.
Set in the gorgeous, sprawling countryside of the Pacific Northwest, Eileen Garvin's THE MUSIC OF BEES is about finding friendship in the most unlikely of places, and the families we choose for ourselves. Heart-warming, inspirational and redemptive, it is perfect for fans of THE LANGUAGE OF FLOWERS and Rachel Joyce. 'It's simultaneously heartbreaking and uplifting, and I loved it' Abi Dare, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl with the Louding Voice 'It's the bees, with all their wonder and intricacy and intrigue, that make this story sing' Laurie Frankel After the sudden death of her husband, Alice Holtzman finds herself a social outsider. Reclusive, middle-aged, childless, and with only 850,000 honeybees for company. On the other side of town, Jake Stevenson and his enormous black mohawk had a bright future in front of them studying music, all until an accident at a high school party leaves him in a wheelchair. So when Alice nearly crashes her pick-up truck, packed with thousands of restless honeybees, into Jake, the last thing she expects from the near-miss is to find that Jake has a gift: not only is he a natural with bees, but he can hear their buzzing as a form of music. . . And when Harry, a twenty-four-year-old with debilitating social anxiety, also arrives at the farm looking for work, unexpected friendships begin to blossom. As these new friends begin to heal one another, all seems right with their world - until the buzzing stops. With a pesticide company threatening the local honeybee population, and everything they have worked for, this trio must unite to defend their bees. Praise for The Music of Bees. . . 'Genuinely touching' Publishers Weekly 'A hopeful, heart-warming, uplifting story about the power of chosen family' Laurie Frankel, New York Times bestselling author of This Is How It Always Is 'A special treat for nature lovers, The Music of Bees is full of warmth and hope and decency' Rebecca Hardiman, author of Good Eggs 'The Music of Bees is an enchanting book of belonging, overcoming adversity and the journey to find a hive of one's own' Kira Jane Buxton, author of Hollow Kingdom 'A delightful book!' Netgalley Reviewer, 5 stars
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781472277824
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
Contributor By (author) Eileen Garvin
Publication Date 2021-04-27
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 336
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 234 X 153 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 500
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
Set in the gorgeous, sprawling countryside of the Pacific Northwest, Eileen Garvin's THE MUSIC OF BEES is about finding friendship in the most unlikely of places, and the families we choose for ourselves. Heart-warming, inspirational and redemptive, it is perfect for fans of THE LANGUAGE OF FLOWERS and Rachel Joyce. 'It's simultaneously heartbreaking and uplifting, and I loved it' Abi Dare, New York Times bestselling author of The Girl with the Louding Voice 'It's the bees, with all their wonder and intricacy and intrigue, that make this story sing' Laurie Frankel After the sudden death of her husband, Alice Holtzman finds herself a social outsider. Reclusive, middle-aged, childless, and with only 850,000 honeybees for company. On the other side of town, Jake Stevenson and his enormous black mohawk had a bright future in front of them studying music, all until an accident at a high school party leaves him in a wheelchair. So when Alice nearly crashes her pick-up truck, packed with thousands of restless honeybees, into Jake, the last thing she expects from the near-miss is to find that Jake has a gift: not only is he a natural with bees, but he can hear their buzzing as a form of music. . . And when Harry, a twenty-four-year-old with debilitating social anxiety, also arrives at the farm looking for work, unexpected friendships begin to blossom. As these new friends begin to heal one another, all seems right with their world - until the buzzing stops. With a pesticide company threatening the local honeybee population, and everything they have worked for, this trio must unite to defend their bees. Praise for The Music of Bees. . . 'Genuinely touching' Publishers Weekly 'A hopeful, heart-warming, uplifting story about the power of chosen family' Laurie Frankel, New York Times bestselling author of This Is How It Always Is 'A special treat for nature lovers, The Music of Bees is full of warmth and hope and decency' Rebecca Hardiman, author of Good Eggs 'The Music of Bees is an enchanting book of belonging, overcoming adversity and the journey to find a hive of one's own' Kira Jane Buxton, author of Hollow Kingdom 'A delightful book!' Netgalley Reviewer, 5 stars
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781472277824
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
Contributor By (author) Eileen Garvin
Publication Date 2021-04-27
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 336
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 234 X 153 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 500
}