Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
The Midwife

The Midwife

Publisher : Pan Macmillan
SKU: 9781529093681
R 340,00
A haunting and moving book club read with an unforgettable twist, The Midwife by Tricia Cresswell is perfect for fans of The Familiars and The Binding.
A haunting and moving debut, The Midwife by Tricia Cresswell is perfect for fans of The Familiars and The Binding. 1838. After a violent storm, a woman is found alone, naked and near death, on the Northumberland moors. She has no memory of who she is or how she got there. But she can remember how to help a woman in labour and how to expertly dress a wound, and can speak fluent French. With the odds against her, a penniless single woman, she starts to build her life from scratch, using her skills to help other women around her. She finds a happy place in the world. Until tragedy strikes, and she must run for her life . . . In London, Dr Borthwick lives a solitary life working as an accoucheur dealing with mothers and babies in the elegant homes of high society together with his midwife, Mrs Bates, and volunteering in the slums of the Devil's Acre alongside a young widow, Eleanor Johnson. His professional reputation is spotless and he keeps his private life just as clean, isolating himself from any new acquaintances. But he is harbouring a dark secret from his past - one that threatens to spill over everything.
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781529093681
Publisher Pan Macmillan
Contributor By (author) Tricia Cresswell
Publication Date 2022-02-17
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 352
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 233 X 153 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 440
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
A haunting and moving debut, The Midwife by Tricia Cresswell is perfect for fans of The Familiars and The Binding. 1838. After a violent storm, a woman is found alone, naked and near death, on the Northumberland moors. She has no memory of who she is or how she got there. But she can remember how to help a woman in labour and how to expertly dress a wound, and can speak fluent French. With the odds against her, a penniless single woman, she starts to build her life from scratch, using her skills to help other women around her. She finds a happy place in the world. Until tragedy strikes, and she must run for her life . . . In London, Dr Borthwick lives a solitary life working as an accoucheur dealing with mothers and babies in the elegant homes of high society together with his midwife, Mrs Bates, and volunteering in the slums of the Devil's Acre alongside a young widow, Eleanor Johnson. His professional reputation is spotless and he keeps his private life just as clean, isolating himself from any new acquaintances. But he is harbouring a dark secret from his past - one that threatens to spill over everything.
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781529093681
Publisher Pan Macmillan
Contributor By (author) Tricia Cresswell
Publication Date 2022-02-17
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 352
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 233 X 153 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 440
}