Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
The Lost Diary of Venice

The Lost Diary of Venice

Publisher : Orion Publishing Co
SKU: 9781409188216
R 355,00
R 301,75
A secret diary. Two love stories connected through history. A centuries old mystery to solve. A richly detailed page-turner that plunges the reader into 16th century Venice, for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore, Kayte Nunn and Kathryn Hughes.
A secret diary. A forbidden love. A centuries old mystery to solve. When a rare sixteenth-century manuscript lands on her desk courtesy of William, a struggling painter, shy book restorer Rose makes a startling discovery: it is a palimpsest. Beneath the text is a different document, one that's been written over. What they discover is the secret diary of William's ancestor, Giovanni Lomazzo, a Venetian painter who has just been commissioned by Venice's most powerful admiral to paint a portrait of his favourite courtesan... it is a diary of forbidden love, dangerous political plots, and secrets that could destroy everyone involved. Together, Rose and William work to solve the mystery of what happened to the secret lovers. As feelings develop between Rose and William, their own experience begins to mirror the affair that they're uncovering, and each set of lovers is forced to confront the reality of their romance. A richly detailed and sweeping page-turner, this sumptuous portrait of late Renaissance Italy will have you falling headlong into history, slipping in and out of the shadows along the canals of Venice. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Kathryn Hughes.
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781409188216
Publisher Orion Publishing Co
Contributor By (author) Margaux DeRoux
Publication Date 2020-06-09
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 336
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 232 X 152 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 404
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
A secret diary. A forbidden love. A centuries old mystery to solve. When a rare sixteenth-century manuscript lands on her desk courtesy of William, a struggling painter, shy book restorer Rose makes a startling discovery: it is a palimpsest. Beneath the text is a different document, one that's been written over. What they discover is the secret diary of William's ancestor, Giovanni Lomazzo, a Venetian painter who has just been commissioned by Venice's most powerful admiral to paint a portrait of his favourite courtesan... it is a diary of forbidden love, dangerous political plots, and secrets that could destroy everyone involved. Together, Rose and William work to solve the mystery of what happened to the secret lovers. As feelings develop between Rose and William, their own experience begins to mirror the affair that they're uncovering, and each set of lovers is forced to confront the reality of their romance. A richly detailed and sweeping page-turner, this sumptuous portrait of late Renaissance Italy will have you falling headlong into history, slipping in and out of the shadows along the canals of Venice. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Kathryn Hughes.
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781409188216
Publisher Orion Publishing Co
Contributor By (author) Margaux DeRoux
Publication Date 2020-06-09
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 336
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 232 X 152 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 404
}