Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
The Leaving of Liverpool : Two sisters face battles in life and love

The Leaving of Liverpool : Two sisters face battles in life and love

Publisher : Headline Publishing Group
SKU: 9781472293886
R 215,00
R 182,75
A heart-warming novel about sisterly love, dangerous men and true love in post-WWI Liverpool. For fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin.
At the close of the First World War, two sisters' battles are only just beginning... The Leaving of Liverpool is a poignant saga about the friendship between sisters, the threat of dangerous men and the promise of true love in post-World War I Liverpool. It is 1919. Liverpool has been devastated by World War I. But at last the war is over. Emily Parkinson goes back into service and enjoys the return to normality. But her sister Phoebe-Anne has ideas beyond her station. Working as a lady's maid, Phoebe-Ann hopes that one day she will be more than just a friend to her mistress's shell-shocked brother James Mercer. When Emily is brutally attacked, the sisters' lives come close to ruin. Phoebe-Ann is forced to leave the Mercer household and falls into the arms of notorious Jake Malone. But as Emily recovers it seems that Phoebe-Anne might just be able to escape the mistakes of her past after all . . . What readers are saying about The Leaving of Liverpool: 'Really enjoyed every moment of this book. It's a page turner right from the start' 'Excellent read - five stars' 'Enthralling to the end'
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781472293886
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
Contributor By (author) Lyn Andrews
Publication Date 2022-05-12
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 416
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 198 X 126 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 260
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
At the close of the First World War, two sisters' battles are only just beginning... The Leaving of Liverpool is a poignant saga about the friendship between sisters, the threat of dangerous men and the promise of true love in post-World War I Liverpool. It is 1919. Liverpool has been devastated by World War I. But at last the war is over. Emily Parkinson goes back into service and enjoys the return to normality. But her sister Phoebe-Anne has ideas beyond her station. Working as a lady's maid, Phoebe-Ann hopes that one day she will be more than just a friend to her mistress's shell-shocked brother James Mercer. When Emily is brutally attacked, the sisters' lives come close to ruin. Phoebe-Ann is forced to leave the Mercer household and falls into the arms of notorious Jake Malone. But as Emily recovers it seems that Phoebe-Anne might just be able to escape the mistakes of her past after all . . . What readers are saying about The Leaving of Liverpool: 'Really enjoyed every moment of this book. It's a page turner right from the start' 'Excellent read - five stars' 'Enthralling to the end'
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781472293886
Publisher Headline Publishing Group
Contributor By (author) Lyn Andrews
Publication Date 2022-05-12
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 416
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 198 X 126 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 260
}