Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
Standing Heavy

Standing Heavy

Publisher : Quercus Publishing
SKU: 9781529414431
R 285,00
R 242,25
A bitingly satirical novel about undocumented security guards in Paris: for fans of Sam Selvon and George Orwell.
Initially a little intrigued, all babies eventually return the security guard's smile. The security guard adores babies. Perhaps because babies do not shoplift. Babies adore the security guard. Perhaps because he does not drag babies to the sales. The 1960s - Ferdinand arrives in Paris from Cote d'Ivoire, ready to take on the world and become a big somebody. The 1990s - It is the Golden Age of immigration, and Ossiri and Kassoum navigate a Paris on the brink of momentous change. The 2010s - In a Sephora on the Champs-Elysees, the all-seeing eyes of a security guard observes the habits of those who come to worship at this church to consumerism. Amidst the political bickering of the inhabitants of the Residence for Students from Cote d'Ivoire and the ever-changing landscape of French immigration policy, Ferdinand, Ossiri and Kassoum, two generations of Ivoirians, attempt to make their way as undocumented workers, taking shifts as security at a flour mill. Sharply satirical, political and poignant, Standing Heavy is a searingly witty deconstruction of colonial legacies and capitalist consumption, an unprecedented and unforgettable account of everything that passes under a security guard's gaze. Translated from the French by Frank Wynne "A formidable keenness of observation and a sarcastic wit" La Croix "Political satire with the air of a poetry slam" Stylist
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781529414431
Publisher Quercus Publishing
Contributor By (author) Gauz, Translated by Frank Wynne
Publication Date 2022-05-26
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 252
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 196 X 130 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 138
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
Initially a little intrigued, all babies eventually return the security guard's smile. The security guard adores babies. Perhaps because babies do not shoplift. Babies adore the security guard. Perhaps because he does not drag babies to the sales. The 1960s - Ferdinand arrives in Paris from Cote d'Ivoire, ready to take on the world and become a big somebody. The 1990s - It is the Golden Age of immigration, and Ossiri and Kassoum navigate a Paris on the brink of momentous change. The 2010s - In a Sephora on the Champs-Elysees, the all-seeing eyes of a security guard observes the habits of those who come to worship at this church to consumerism. Amidst the political bickering of the inhabitants of the Residence for Students from Cote d'Ivoire and the ever-changing landscape of French immigration policy, Ferdinand, Ossiri and Kassoum, two generations of Ivoirians, attempt to make their way as undocumented workers, taking shifts as security at a flour mill. Sharply satirical, political and poignant, Standing Heavy is a searingly witty deconstruction of colonial legacies and capitalist consumption, an unprecedented and unforgettable account of everything that passes under a security guard's gaze. Translated from the French by Frank Wynne "A formidable keenness of observation and a sarcastic wit" La Croix "Political satire with the air of a poetry slam" Stylist
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781529414431
Publisher Quercus Publishing
Contributor By (author) Gauz, Translated by Frank Wynne
Publication Date 2022-05-26
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 252
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 196 X 130 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 138
}