Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
Son of the Storm

Son of the Storm

Publisher : Little, Brown Book Group
SKU: 9780356515823
R 215,00
R 182,75
The start of a new blockbuster epic fantasy series, set in a world inspired by pre-Colonial West African empires, Son of the Storm is perfect for fans of Brent Weeks, Evan Winter and James Islington.
Award-winning author Suyi Davies Okungbowa begins a thrilling new epic fantasy series of violent conquest, buried histories and forbidden magic. In the city of Bassa, Danso is a clever scholar on the cusp of achieving greatness-only he doesn't want it. Instead, he prefers to chase forbidden stories about what lies outside the city walls. The Bassai elite claim there is nothing of interest. The city's immigrants are sworn to secrecy. But when Danso stumbles across a warrior wielding magic that shouldn't exist, he's put on a collision course with Bassa's darkest secrets. Drawn into the city's hidden history, he sets out on a journey beyond its borders. But the chaos left in the wake of his discovery threatens to destroy the empire. 'Everything I love to see in a fantasy story: masterful, fully-realised worldbuilding, morally complex characters, thoughtful and piercing interrogations of power, privilege, and all the facets of human nature. Damn good stuff!' - Jenn Lyons 'A mesmerising coming of age tale set against a thrilling, fantastical adventure that introduces and beguiling new world . . . and then rips apart everything you think you know' - S. A. Chakraborty 'An elaborately plotted tale of ancient magics and world-shattering politics. I, like many others, will be impatiently waiting for the next instalment!' - Andrea Stewart 'One of the most promising new voices in the growing coterie of African SFF writers' - Wired
Products specifications
ISBN13 9780356515823
Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
Contributor By (author) Suyi Davies Okungbowa
Publication Date 2021-05-13
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 480
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 198 X 126 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 500
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
Award-winning author Suyi Davies Okungbowa begins a thrilling new epic fantasy series of violent conquest, buried histories and forbidden magic. In the city of Bassa, Danso is a clever scholar on the cusp of achieving greatness-only he doesn't want it. Instead, he prefers to chase forbidden stories about what lies outside the city walls. The Bassai elite claim there is nothing of interest. The city's immigrants are sworn to secrecy. But when Danso stumbles across a warrior wielding magic that shouldn't exist, he's put on a collision course with Bassa's darkest secrets. Drawn into the city's hidden history, he sets out on a journey beyond its borders. But the chaos left in the wake of his discovery threatens to destroy the empire. 'Everything I love to see in a fantasy story: masterful, fully-realised worldbuilding, morally complex characters, thoughtful and piercing interrogations of power, privilege, and all the facets of human nature. Damn good stuff!' - Jenn Lyons 'A mesmerising coming of age tale set against a thrilling, fantastical adventure that introduces and beguiling new world . . . and then rips apart everything you think you know' - S. A. Chakraborty 'An elaborately plotted tale of ancient magics and world-shattering politics. I, like many others, will be impatiently waiting for the next instalment!' - Andrea Stewart 'One of the most promising new voices in the growing coterie of African SFF writers' - Wired
Products specifications
ISBN13 9780356515823
Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
Contributor By (author) Suyi Davies Okungbowa
Publication Date 2021-05-13
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 480
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 198 X 126 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 500
}