Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
Hush : 'Shows the push and pull of motherhood...I was absolutely glued to it' Emma Gannon

Hush : 'Shows the push and pull of motherhood...I was absolutely glued to it' Emma Gannon

Publisher : Little, Brown Book Group
SKU: 9780349015071
R 355,00
R 301,75
A gripping, beautifully written and taboo-busting debut novel about motherhood and female identity, for readers of Anna Hope's EXPECTATION and Sheila Heti's MOTHERHOOD.
What if the thing you most wanted feels nothing like you expected? A Grazia Hot Debut 'A richly textured novel showing the push and pull of motherhood, career identity and what it means to be a woman with multiple sides ... I was absolutely glued to it' Emma Gannon, bestselling author of Olive After five exhilarating years in New York, Stevie has a successful career and a glamorous social life. But what she most wants is a baby, an aspiration that feels impossible given that she is single, thirty-eight and living in a tiny apartment in Manhattan, far away from most of her family in England. Determined to become a mother, Stevie returns to London and has a baby on her own. When she gives birth to Ash, she finds motherhood painfully at odds with her former life and her expectations. She begins to wonder if having a child was a mistake - and what she might be willing to do to escape. As she struggles with what her future might hold, revelations from the past change everything she believed about family and love. 'A daring, compelling novel' Cosmopolitan 'An unflinching look at both work-as-identity and modern parenting' Grazia 'A taboo-busting tale' Harper's Bazaar 'Debuts don't come any hotter... Utterly compelling' Irish Independent 'By turns shocking and tender' Metro
Products specifications
ISBN13 9780349015071
Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
Contributor By (author) Kate Maxwell
Publication Date 2022-05-12
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 384
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 232 X 152 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 463
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
What if the thing you most wanted feels nothing like you expected? A Grazia Hot Debut 'A richly textured novel showing the push and pull of motherhood, career identity and what it means to be a woman with multiple sides ... I was absolutely glued to it' Emma Gannon, bestselling author of Olive After five exhilarating years in New York, Stevie has a successful career and a glamorous social life. But what she most wants is a baby, an aspiration that feels impossible given that she is single, thirty-eight and living in a tiny apartment in Manhattan, far away from most of her family in England. Determined to become a mother, Stevie returns to London and has a baby on her own. When she gives birth to Ash, she finds motherhood painfully at odds with her former life and her expectations. She begins to wonder if having a child was a mistake - and what she might be willing to do to escape. As she struggles with what her future might hold, revelations from the past change everything she believed about family and love. 'A daring, compelling novel' Cosmopolitan 'An unflinching look at both work-as-identity and modern parenting' Grazia 'A taboo-busting tale' Harper's Bazaar 'Debuts don't come any hotter... Utterly compelling' Irish Independent 'By turns shocking and tender' Metro
Products specifications
ISBN13 9780349015071
Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
Contributor By (author) Kate Maxwell
Publication Date 2022-05-12
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 384
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 232 X 152 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 463
}