Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
Hourglass : Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2022

Hourglass : Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2022

Publisher : Little, Brown Book Group
SKU: 9781408714874
R 310,00
R 263,50
A short, exquisite debut novel about love, loss, work, time and the unquenchable desire for connection with others - for fans of Jenny Offill and Max Porter
'A universal love story' Guardian 'Beautiful and very funny' Brett Anderson 'This book glows in the heart of the reader' Max Porter 'This book is such a sneaky head f*ck - an epic poem in an ancient style about the brutalities of modern love, a masculine interrogation of feminine heartbreak, a really beautiful way to spend an evening' Lena Dunham The second time you came, we went from bar to bar to bar. It made the city feel smaller. Like a map we were folding to the size of a stamp. We were good at that. We could have fit an entire universe inside a matchbox. Love builds up little by little and that's why it makes people reach for words like root and sediment and other words to do with rocks and trees. But what about the dismantling? Does it happen that way too? Because it feels like it is happening much, much faster. And I am reaching for words like landslide and like wave and like storm ... Exquisitely crafted, wildly imaginative and as darkly funny as it is moving, Hourglass is a revolutionary love story. It turns time upside down, combs the intimate wreckage of heartbreak for something universal, and asks what it means to lose what you love. 'Hourglass will stay with me for a long time. Hypnotic' Lemn Sissay 'Evocative, ecstatic and saturated with off-kilter wit' Alexandra Kleeman
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781408714874
Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
Contributor By (author) Keiran Goddard
Publication Date 2022-03-03
Language English
Format Hardback
Pages 208
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 202 X 132 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 289
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
'A universal love story' Guardian 'Beautiful and very funny' Brett Anderson 'This book glows in the heart of the reader' Max Porter 'This book is such a sneaky head f*ck - an epic poem in an ancient style about the brutalities of modern love, a masculine interrogation of feminine heartbreak, a really beautiful way to spend an evening' Lena Dunham The second time you came, we went from bar to bar to bar. It made the city feel smaller. Like a map we were folding to the size of a stamp. We were good at that. We could have fit an entire universe inside a matchbox. Love builds up little by little and that's why it makes people reach for words like root and sediment and other words to do with rocks and trees. But what about the dismantling? Does it happen that way too? Because it feels like it is happening much, much faster. And I am reaching for words like landslide and like wave and like storm ... Exquisitely crafted, wildly imaginative and as darkly funny as it is moving, Hourglass is a revolutionary love story. It turns time upside down, combs the intimate wreckage of heartbreak for something universal, and asks what it means to lose what you love. 'Hourglass will stay with me for a long time. Hypnotic' Lemn Sissay 'Evocative, ecstatic and saturated with off-kilter wit' Alexandra Kleeman
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781408714874
Publisher Little, Brown Book Group
Contributor By (author) Keiran Goddard
Publication Date 2022-03-03
Language English
Format Hardback
Pages 208
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 202 X 132 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 289
}