Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
Picture for category Other Military History & Campaigns

Other Military History & Campaigns

Other Military History & Campaigns
3 Items in Grid 4 Items in Grid List

A Fatal Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum : Murder in Ancient Rome

CSI: Ancient Rome - what can everyday killings tell us about the Empire and its people?
R 225,25

A Brief History of South Africa : From Earliest Times to the Mandela Presidency

A Brief History of South Africa is an introduction to South African history from the earliest times to the Mandela Presidency. Using both a narrative chronology and thematic chapters, the book encourages critical thinking about how history shaped South Africa.
R 240,00

A Coup in Turkey : A Tale of Democracy, Despotism and Vengeance in a Divided Land

The most dramatic, revealing and little-known story in Turkey's history - which illuminates the nation 'Through the spellbinding career of a single, ill-fated leader, Jeremy Seal illuminates a bitterly divided country' Colin Thubron 'Read this book if you're interested in Turkey.
R 405,00

A Bicycle, A Chess Set, an African River

What makes Pat Simmons, a retired engineer, give up his comfortable middle class living and wade across a crocodile infested river with a bicycle strapped to his back, in order to teach chess to schoolchildren at the Mission station?
R 220,00

50 People Who F***ed Up South Africa : The Lost Decade

To mark the tenth anniversary of the smash-hit 50 People Who Stuffed Up South Africa, the original 50 People team brings you an all-new sequel: 50 People Who F***ed Up South Africa: The lost decade.
R 285,00

100 Great Black Britons

A long-overdue book honouring the remarkable achievements of key black British individuals over many centuries, in collaboration with the 100 Great Black Britons campaign founded and run by Patrick Vernon OBE.
R 403,75 R 475,00

A Brief History of the Mediterranean : Indispensable for Travellers

A wonderfully concise and readable, yet comprehensive, history of the Mediterranean Sea, the perfect companion for any visitor, whether cruising or staying ashore.
R 204,00 R 240,00

1986

1986 was a pivotal year in South African history. It was the year of the vigilante, the year of the necklace - but also the year the talking began. Drawing on newspaper articles, memoirs, and little-known histories, William Dicey presents a compelling diary of a very bad year.
R 280,00

1939 : A People's History

A vivid people's history, based on original source material, of the twelve months leading up to the outbreak of the war nobody wanted in 1939, perfect for fans of Antony Beevor, Max Hastings, Christopher Clark and Margaret Macmillan.
R 250,00

A Company Of Heroes

After chronicling the personal stories of the Band of Brothers in We Who Are Alive and Remain, author Marcus Brotherton presents a collection of remembrances from the families of the soldiers of Easy Company-and how their wartime experiences shaped their lives off the battlefield. A Company of Heroes is an intimate, revealing portrait of the lives of the men who fought for our freedom during some of the darkest days the world has ever known-men who returned home with a newfound wisdom and hon
R 153,00 R 180,00

A Dream Realised : The Challenges and Triumphs of Building a Mandela Legacy

When Madiba asked this question, he sowed the seeds of a challenge that would grow into a legacy. A seed may be small but its size is disproportionate to what it can become over time. The Nelson Mandela Children’s Hospital was a project that seemed impossible when it was just an idea that started with ten people seated around a dinner table.
R 272,00 R 320,00

A far-away war : Angola 1975-1989

South Africa's armed forces invaded Angola in 1975, setting off a war that had consequences for the whole region that are still felt today. A far-away war contributes to a wider understanding of this war in Angola and Namibia.
R 378,25 R 445,00