Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
For Those Who Are Lost : A Novel

For Those Who Are Lost : A Novel

Publisher : Sourcebooks, Inc
SKU: 9781728248547
R 276,25
"A compelling story of love, courage and forgiveness. Highly recommended." -Historical Novel Society "A sure bet for readers of personal war stories and those who want to know, 'What about the women and children?'" -Booklist Inspired by true events, For Those Who Are Lost begins on the eve of the Nazi invasion of the island of Guernsey, when terrified parents have a choice to make: send their children alone to England, or keep the family together and risk whatever may come to their villages.
"A compelling story of love, courage and forgiveness. Highly recommended." -Historical Novel Society "A sure bet for readers of personal war stories and those who want to know, 'What about the women and children?'" -Booklist Inspired by true events, For Those Who Are Lost begins on the eve of the Nazi invasion of the island of Guernsey, when terrified parents have a choice to make: send their children alone to England, or keep the family together and risk whatever may come to their villages. Ava and Joseph Simon reluctantly put their 9-year-old son, Henry, and four-year-old daughter, Catherine, in the care of their son's teacher, who will escort them on a boat to mainland England. Just as the ferry is about to leave, the teacher's sister, Lily appears. The two trade places: Helen doesn't want to leave Guernsey, and Lily is desperate for a fresh start. Lily is the one who accompanies the children to England, and Lily is the one who lets Henry get on a train by himself, deciding in a split second to take Catherine with her and walk the other way. That split-second decision lingers long after the war ends, impacting the rest of their lives. Perfect for readers of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, For Those Who Are Lost is at once heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and uplifting.
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781728248547
Publisher Sourcebooks, Inc
Contributor By (author) Julia Bryan Thomas
Publication Date 2022-07-14
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 384
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 212 X 142 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 303
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
"A compelling story of love, courage and forgiveness. Highly recommended." -Historical Novel Society "A sure bet for readers of personal war stories and those who want to know, 'What about the women and children?'" -Booklist Inspired by true events, For Those Who Are Lost begins on the eve of the Nazi invasion of the island of Guernsey, when terrified parents have a choice to make: send their children alone to England, or keep the family together and risk whatever may come to their villages. Ava and Joseph Simon reluctantly put their 9-year-old son, Henry, and four-year-old daughter, Catherine, in the care of their son's teacher, who will escort them on a boat to mainland England. Just as the ferry is about to leave, the teacher's sister, Lily appears. The two trade places: Helen doesn't want to leave Guernsey, and Lily is desperate for a fresh start. Lily is the one who accompanies the children to England, and Lily is the one who lets Henry get on a train by himself, deciding in a split second to take Catherine with her and walk the other way. That split-second decision lingers long after the war ends, impacting the rest of their lives. Perfect for readers of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, For Those Who Are Lost is at once heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and uplifting.
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781728248547
Publisher Sourcebooks, Inc
Contributor By (author) Julia Bryan Thomas
Publication Date 2022-07-14
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 384
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 212 X 142 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 303
}