Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
Burnt Sugar : Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2020

Burnt Sugar : Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2020

Publisher : Penguin Books Ltd
SKU: 9780241989142
R 215,00
SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020 LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2021 WINNER OF THE SUSHILA DEVI AWARD 2021 A searing debut novel about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal - for fans of Jenny Offill, Deborah Levy, Rachel Cusk and Diana Evans 'Beautifully written, emotionally wrenching and poignant in equal measure' The Booker Prize Judges 2020 'An unsettling, sinewy debut, startling in its venom and disarming in its humour from the very first sentence' Guardian
SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020 LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2021 WINNER OF THE SUSHILA DEVI AWARD 2021 A searing debut novel about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal - for fans of Jenny Offill, Deborah Levy, Rachel Cusk and Diana Evans 'Beautifully written, emotionally wrenching and poignant in equal measure' The Booker Prize Judges 2020 'An unsettling, sinewy debut, startling in its venom and disarming in its humour from the very first sentence' Guardian 'I would be lying if I said my mother's misery has never given me pleasure.' This is a tale of obsession and betrayal. This is a poisoned love story. But not between lovers - between mother and daughter. Tara and Antara, the woman and her angry shadow. But which one is which? Sharp as a blade and compulsively readable, Burnt Sugar slowly untangles the knot of memory and fiction that binds two women together, revealing the truth that lies beneath. 'A work of extraordinary insight, courage and sophistication' Washington Post 'Arresting and fiercely intelligent, disarmingly witty and frank' Sunday Times 'A sly, slippery, often heartbreaking novel about the role memory plays within families' Stylist 'Extraordinary... Come for the effortlessly stylish writing, stay for the boiling wrath' Observer
Products specifications
ISBN13 9780241989142
Publisher Penguin Books Ltd
Contributor By (author) Avni Doshi
Publication Date 2021-06-03
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 240
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 198 X 129 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 500
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020 LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2021 WINNER OF THE SUSHILA DEVI AWARD 2021 A searing debut novel about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal - for fans of Jenny Offill, Deborah Levy, Rachel Cusk and Diana Evans 'Beautifully written, emotionally wrenching and poignant in equal measure' The Booker Prize Judges 2020 'An unsettling, sinewy debut, startling in its venom and disarming in its humour from the very first sentence' Guardian 'I would be lying if I said my mother's misery has never given me pleasure.' This is a tale of obsession and betrayal. This is a poisoned love story. But not between lovers - between mother and daughter. Tara and Antara, the woman and her angry shadow. But which one is which? Sharp as a blade and compulsively readable, Burnt Sugar slowly untangles the knot of memory and fiction that binds two women together, revealing the truth that lies beneath. 'A work of extraordinary insight, courage and sophistication' Washington Post 'Arresting and fiercely intelligent, disarmingly witty and frank' Sunday Times 'A sly, slippery, often heartbreaking novel about the role memory plays within families' Stylist 'Extraordinary... Come for the effortlessly stylish writing, stay for the boiling wrath' Observer
Products specifications
ISBN13 9780241989142
Publisher Penguin Books Ltd
Contributor By (author) Avni Doshi
Publication Date 2021-06-03
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 240
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 198 X 129 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 500
}