Close
You have no items in your shopping cart.
Search
A Desolation Called Peace

A Desolation Called Peace

Publisher : Pan Macmillan
SKU: 9781529001648
R 220,00
As a terrifying alien threat sweeps across the galaxy, their first battle is how to communicate. A Desolation Called Peace follows Arkady Martine's incredible debut, A Memory Called Empire, and is perfect for fans of Ann Leckie, John Scalzi and Becky Chambers.
A Desolation Called Peace is the spectacular space opera sequel to A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine, winner of the 2020 Hugo Award for Best Novel. An alien terror could spell our end. An alien threat lurks on the edges of Teixcalaanli space. No one can communicate with it, no one can destroy it, and Fleet Captain Nine Hibiscus is supposed to win a war against it. In a desperate attempt to find a diplomatic solution, the fleet captain has sent for an envoy to contact the mysterious invaders. Now Mahit Dzmare and Three Seagrass - both still reeling from the recent upheaval in the Empire - face an impossible task: they must attempt to negotiate with a hostile entity, without inadvertently triggering the destruction of themselves and the Empire. Whether they succeed or fail could change the face of Teixcalaan forever. 'All-round brilliant space opera, I absolutely loved it' - Ann Leckie on A Memory Called Empire 'A cutting, beautiful, human adventure . . . The best SF novel I've read in the last five years' - Yoon Ha Lee on A Memory Called Empire A Desolation Called Peace is the second book in the Teixcalaan duology by Arkady Martine.
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781529001648
Publisher Pan Macmillan
Contributor By (author) Arkady Martine
Publication Date 2022-02-17
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 496
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 197 X 130 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 348
Write your own review Close Review Form
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
*
*
*
*
Description
A Desolation Called Peace is the spectacular space opera sequel to A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine, winner of the 2020 Hugo Award for Best Novel. An alien terror could spell our end. An alien threat lurks on the edges of Teixcalaanli space. No one can communicate with it, no one can destroy it, and Fleet Captain Nine Hibiscus is supposed to win a war against it. In a desperate attempt to find a diplomatic solution, the fleet captain has sent for an envoy to contact the mysterious invaders. Now Mahit Dzmare and Three Seagrass - both still reeling from the recent upheaval in the Empire - face an impossible task: they must attempt to negotiate with a hostile entity, without inadvertently triggering the destruction of themselves and the Empire. Whether they succeed or fail could change the face of Teixcalaan forever. 'All-round brilliant space opera, I absolutely loved it' - Ann Leckie on A Memory Called Empire 'A cutting, beautiful, human adventure . . . The best SF novel I've read in the last five years' - Yoon Ha Lee on A Memory Called Empire A Desolation Called Peace is the second book in the Teixcalaan duology by Arkady Martine.
Products specifications
ISBN13 9781529001648
Publisher Pan Macmillan
Contributor By (author) Arkady Martine
Publication Date 2022-02-17
Language English
Format Paperback / softback
Pages 496
Product Dimensions (H x W x L) in mm 197 X 130 X 210
Shipping Weight (grams) 348
}